Sign In



Organisational structure

The Tribunal, our structu​re an​d our staff

The President and Members of the Tribunal, assisted by the Registrar, under delegation from the Registrar of the Federal Court of Australia (the Court) are responsible for managing the administrative affairs of the National Native Title Tribunal (NNTT).

From time to time Deputy Presidents may also be appointed.

NNTT staff are employed under the Public Service Act 1999. The President, Members, Registrar and staff all provide native title services and assistance​ across Australia. Staff in the NNTTs offices (located in Perth, Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane and Cairns) include experts and specialists in various native title related fields.

Organisation chart



President: Kevin Smith
Member: Nerida Cooley
Member: Glen Kelly
Member: Lisa Eaton​

Native Title Registrar

Ms Katie Stride​


  • The staff is organised as follows:
  • Legal & Compliance
  • Dispute Resolution & Assistance
  • Geospatial Services Team
  • Business Support

The President assigns duties, powers and functions to the staff. The Registrar is responsible to the President for staff management.​​​​​​​​​​