Sign In


Future Act Determination Details

WA - Future Act Determination - WO2013/1019, WO2013/1020

​WO2013/1019, WO2013/1020
NNTTA 2 (20 January 2015)
Western Australia  
Ms Helen Shurven (Member)
​Ngarrawanji Native Title Claimants (WC1996/075) (‘Ngarrawanji native title party’)
Koongie-Elvire Native Title Claimants (WC1999/040) ('Koongie-Elvire native title party')
- and -
The State of Western Australia (Government party)
- and -
Sammy Resources Pty Ltd (grantee party)
An inquiry into expedited procedure objection applications
Objection - Expedited Procedure Does Not Apply
​Representatives of the native title parties: Ms Barbra Friedewald, Kimberley Land Council
Representatives of the Government party: Ms Carol Walls, State Solicitor’s Office, Mr Matthew Smith, Department of Mines and Petroleum
Representative of the grantee party: Ms Stephanie Lee, McMahon Mining Title Services
​Native title – future act – proposed grant of exploration licence – expedited procedure objection applications – whether act likely to interfere directly with the carrying on of community or social activities – whether act likely to interfere with sites of particular significance – expedited procedure not attracted
Aboriginal Heritage Act 1972 (WA); Country Areas Water Supply Act 1947 (WA); Environmental Protection Act 1986 (WA); Environmental Protection (Clearing of Native Vegetation) Regulations 2004 (WA); Metropolitan Water Supply, Sewerage and Drainage Act 1909 (WA); Mining Act 1978 (WA); Native Title Act 1993 (Cth) s 146; Native Title Act 1993 (Cth) s 237; Native Title Act 1993 (Cth) s 29; Native Title Act 1993 (Cth) s 31; Rights in Water and Irrigation Act 1914 (WA); Water Agencies (Powers) Act 1984 (WA); Water Resources Legislation Amendment Act 2007 (WA); Waterways Conservation Act 1976 (WA);

​Andy Campbell & Ors on behalf of the Birriliburu Native Title Holders/Western Australia/Murchison Metal Ltd [2012] NNTTA 48 (‘Campbell v Murchison Metal Ltd’)

Butcher Cherel and Others/Western Australia/Faustus Nominees Pty Ltd [2007] NNTTA 15 (‘Cherel v Faustas Nominees Pty Ltd’)

Cheinmora and Others v Heron Resources Ltd and Another (2005) 196 FLR 250 [2005] NNTTA 99 (‘Cheinmora v Heron Resources Ltd’)

Jango v Northern Territory of Australia [2006] FCA 318 (‘Jango v Northern Territory’)

Karajarri Traditional Lands Association (Aboriginal Corporation)/Western Australia/ASJ Resources Pty Ltd, [2012] NNTTA 18 (‘Karajarri v ASJ Resources Pty Ltd’)

Les Tullock and Others on behalf of the Tarlpa Native Title Claimants/Western Australia/Bushwin Pty Ltd [2011] NNTTA 22 (‘Tullock v Bushwin Pty Ltd’)

Little v Oriole Resources Pty Ltd [2005] FCA 506 (‘Little v Oriole Resources’)

Maitland Parker and Others/Western Australia/Derek Noel Ammon [2006] NNTTA 65 (‘Parker v Ammon’)

Maitland Parker and Others /Western Australia/Iron Duyfken Pty Ltd [2010] NNTTA 60 (‘Iron Duyfken’)

Neowarra v Western Australia [2003] FCA 1402 (‘Neowarra v Western Australia’)

Silver and Others v Northern Territory of Australia and Others (2002) 169 FLR 1; [2002] NNTTA 18, (‘Silver v Northern Territory’)

Smith v Western Australia and Another (2001) 108 FCR 442 (‘Smith v Western Australia’)

Wilma Freddie and Others/Western Australia/Asia Investment Corporation Pty Ltd [2004] NNTTA 30 (‘Freddie v Asia Investment Corporation’)

Yindjibarndi Aboriginal Corporation RNTBC v FMG Pilbara Pty Ltd and Another [2014] NNTTA 8 (‘Yindjibarndi Aboriginal Corporation v FMG Pilbara’)

FMG Pilbara Pty Ltd v Yindjibarndi Aboriginal Corporation RNTBC [2014] FCA 1335 (‘FMG Pilbara v Yindjibarndi Aboriginal Corporation’)